Garlic Skin-On Mashed Potatoes

Last week, I made 15 lbs of potatoes (and another lady made some too) for a college Thanksgiving dinner that was to feed 80 people or so.  I didnt have any trouble volunteering for this because I LOVE LOVE LOVE mashed potatoes and planned to make a little extra just for me!  However, the night before, I forgot until about 8:00 pm so Matt rushed out and got the potatoes and I pulled out all the big pots, borrowed one from my neighbor and started boiling.  It was a very cold night so the upstairs got heated up quite nicely.   But I thought I would share the recipe in case anyone out there would like to try it.  I like to make them this way the best even though I will eat pretty much any kind of mashed potatoes.  Probably everyone out there has their favorite recipe but just in case you dont, you can try this one out!  (The pictures below are from the large quantity I made the other day but the measurements are going to be for 5lb of potatoes.

Ingredients (for 5lbs of potatoes):

5lbs golden potatoes

1/2-1 stick butter/margarine (melted or at room temperature)

1 cup skim milk

1 tbs salt & pepper (or to taste)

1 1/2 – 2 tbs garlic powder

 

Directions:

 1. Wash potatoes and cut off bad parts (if any). 

2.  Dice potatoes into small pieces (it helps them cook faster if the pieces are small).

3.  Put potates in pot and fill with water about 1-2 inches above potatoes.  Boil until really tender.  Fork should go through easily and/or potatoes are on the virge of falling apart.

4.  Pour potatoes into large bowl and add remaining  ingredients.

5.  Blend with hand mixer until creamy texture.  Add more salt/pepper/garlic/butter/milk if desired!!  I typically use the hand mixer when possible because of the peels.  It is a lot easier than my junky masher! 

Enjoy 🙂 

Leave a Reply

