Seven Layer Greek Dip

This is a wonderful new twist to an old classic party dish, the layered dip.  I have always only had a Mexican layered dip until last month.  My sister brought me a Food Network magazine at Thanksgiving with this recipe in it and I just recently got around to making it.  I only made a few changes 1. because I dont like Kalamata olives or iceberg lettuce and 2.  I always like more seasoning than a recipe suggests, usually.  This would be a great dish to bring to a party because it feeds many people.  But you also just make a personal serving size as well.  It just takes about 30 minutes of preparation for the whole dish.

Ingredients:

20 oz Hummus (2 containers)

1 lb Ground Lamb Meat

1/2 red onion

10-12 Campari tomatoes (5-6 Romas)

3-4 oz Feta cheese

2 cups chopped fresh spinach

140z tzatziki dip

2 Tbs Greek seasoning

Pita chips/bread or toasted tortilla strips

*Large glass dish for layering.  I think a 9 x 13 would be best so the layers arent too think.

Directions:

1.  Brown lamb meat in skillet with Greek Seasoning

2.  While meat is browning, chop all veggies

3.  Assemble layers in dish as follows from bottom to top:

 hummus, seasoned lamb meat, tzatziki sauce, spinach, tomatoes, red onion, feta cheese

4. Serve room temperature or cold.

**One warning, the tomatoes cause the dish to be a bit runny if it sits for long (like overnight). 

 See all the pretty layers

🙂

2 thoughts on “Seven Layer Greek Dip

    • I found tzatziki dip at walmart in where specialty cheese and hummus usually is. Refrigerated of course. And ground lamb was at Whole Foods from the butcher section. I am sure some of the other grocery stores would have it but I found it there first. You could always subsitute ground beef with the Greek seasoning. I bet it would taste the same.

Leave a Reply

