Winter is here!

Thats right friends, winter has officially made its appearance here in Salt Lake City.  It snowed all night at our house last night and everything is beautifully white outside!  The trees are all droopy with snow on them and the mountains are covered in snow too!

(This picture was actually from a premature snowing a few weeks ago.  I havent put any warm clothes on yet to get some from today :))

I dont know about you, but when its cold outside, I usually want to eat warm food rather than cold.  So today was the perfect day for oatmeal for breakfast!  A couple of years ago, I had oatmeal for the first time in over 20+ years and I really LOVED it!  It was always one of those things I said I hated (but really hadnt tried in a long time) due to a bad childhood experience with it.  And I guess I had been missing out for a while.  So, I snapped a quick picture and thought I would share this quick and easy recipe for delicious oatmeal for you to try also!  It is an adaptation from a Jamba Juice recipe.  (And just as a forwarning, I like the more sticky oatmeal and less liquidy oatmeal so you will have to adjust the amount of water if you like it more liquidy).

Ingredients:

1/2 cup dried quick oats

1/2 cup water

1-2 tsp brown sugar

dried blueberries and glazed pecans for topping

(you could also add some other dried berries such as cherries and cranberries  and glazed walnuts if you want too)

Directions:

1.  Add oats and water to microwave safe bowl

2.  Heat for one minute

3.  Add brown sugar, berries and pecans and enjoy!

Have a warm and safe weekend!

2 thoughts on “Winter is here!

  1. Bad childhood oatmeal experience? What was that? LOL Love reading your blogs. It makes me feel I am there with you a little bit. Love you! Mom

Leave a Reply

