DIY Painted Chevron Wall

I did it!  Hoo-rah!  I finally made my statement wall.  We have this floating wall of sorts in our living room that to me, was screaming for a fun design.  I was waivering between chevron or some sort of trellis design but in the end, I decided to go with chevron because frankly, I thought it would be easier, and cheaper, since I wouldn’t have to buy a stencil to do chevron.  This was super fun for me to do so I wanted to make a tutorial in case anyone else out there wanted to make a wall like this and needed some guidance.???????????????????????????????I know it looks intimidating but it really wasn’t too hard.  YOU can do it!  I was quite surprised actually with how quick it took me to complete.  The whole process (painting the background wall color, drawing the vertical lines, taping the chevron pattern, painting the gray stripes, taking the tape off, touching up the rough spots) only took about 8 hours in total!!  I thought it would take a whole day just to tape the design 🙂

So, if you want your wall to look like it was slapped with a giant online printable and go from drab to fab, then grab these supplies, read this DIY, block out a day in your schedule and make it happen!

Supplies needed:

*  Two colors of interior paint of your choice

*  Painters tape

*  Paintbrush

*  Pencil

*  Level

*  Touch up brush (I used a little arts and crafts brush)

*  Measuring tape

*  Exacto knife or razor blade

First things first, tape off your wall edges (baseboards, sides, ceiling) and paint your base color on the whole wall.  The easiest thing to do would be to make your lightest color the base and the darkest color will be used to make the stripes after you tape out your design.  Our wall was a boring tan so I first painted it this shade, Antique White (two coats so the brown wouldnt show through), let it dry overnight (only because I started late or I would have just waited about an hour) then started the design process the next morning.

Next, measure the width of your wall with your measuring tape and decide how many rows of chevrons you want on your wall.  Refer to the figure of my wall below.  And sorry in advance that it is kind of a crooked image, but it real life, the design is straight!

I made four chevron rows pointing downward on my almost 9 1/2′ wide wall.  Using my wall as an example, here’s how to calculate the math.  To make these four chevron rows, it will take 9 vertical lines intersecting at the points (with two of those “lines” being the edge of the wall) to make 8 chevron halves.  So, I took my total wall width of 112.5″ and divided it by 8 to get my half chevron width of 14 1/16″.  Then, I drew 7 vertical lines (spaced evenly at my measurement of 14 1/16″ apart) on the wall, and including the two edges of the wall, that gave me my 8 columns that will transform into 4 rows of vertical chevrons.  The black dashed line in the figure below illustrates the vertical lines I drew on my wall to make my 8 spaces.

chevron wall digure

I used a level and pencil to make all the vertical lines on the wall.  Once you have all those lines drawn, then you have to decide how wide you want your chevrons to be and make those intersecting marks on the wall.  I made mine 10″ wide.  So before I started taping the first row, I made two intersecting marks with my pencil on each vertical line.  One mark and 10″ and one at 20″, using my level as a ruler and to make sure my lines and marks were level.  I only did this one row at a time, taped and then repeated until I was finished.

DSC00200

**This first line that touches the ceiling is by far the hardest to tape so dont get discouraged if it takes a long time or you have to start over a few times.  I had to.  That first line of tape took 2-3 times longer for me to get right than each of the other lines.

For me, I wanted the first full row to be gray, so that meant my wall color was going to be the triangles.

photo(8)

When you are taping, you want to make sure you put the tape on the “background color” stripes of the wall.  This means that you will alternate placing the tape above and below the intersecting marks you drew to achieve the same thickness of stripes when its all said and done.  After you have painted and removed the tape, your stripes will all be the same.  In this photo of my wall below, the triangles at the top and the two skinnier chevron rows will remain the wall color and the three thicker rows will be painted the gray color.

DSC00201

As you continue to tape and mark your intersecting lines, make sure you start your measuring in the right place.  This is how I messed up at first.  If you are about to tape a row you intend to paint (in this photo below it was the gray row), then start your measuring at the bottom of the point and make your next two intersecting lines.

???????????????????????????????

If you are about to tape a “background color” row, then start your measuring at the top of the point like this.  Then make your next two intersecting points on that vertical line.

???????????????????????????????

Another thing that was helpful for me was to write “gray” on the stripe that would be painted as I was taping so I would know for the following row where to put my new line of tape.  Before I started doing that, I messed up my taping for a bit and had to re-do a row so this was super helpful for me.

DSC00206

As you are taping your rows, make sure to check a few spots/per chevron to ensure your row thickness is staying the same.  Below is a gray stripe row so on my wall it should be 10″ thick between the tape lines.

???????????????????????????????

And this photo is of a white stripe row so the 10″ thickness includes the tape.  ???????????????????????????????

On all the rows that are to be painted, you will need to use an exacto knife or razor blade to trim off extra tape.  Its not necessary for the “background color” rows since they won’t be painted.  DSC00196

This will give you a nice clean line for your chevrons.DSC00197

One of my chevrons intersected where a plug was so this is how I taped to make sure I measured as exact as possible.

???????????????????????????????

Whew!  After all that, you now have a beautifully precise taped wall, ready to be painted!!!???????????????????????????????

Make sure to give your little helper(s) a brief amount of attention before you continue so they dont get too sad 🙂DSC00208

This is what the wall looked like after the gray stripes were painted.  See how the gray rows look thicker?  But it will be nicely even after the tape is removed. DSC00211

After you take off all the tape, you will have pencil lines…???????????????????????????????

…and tape blemishes to correct.  Unfortunately, I have never met a roll of painters tape that actually made perfect lines, without blemishes, every time.  I used a little craft paintbrush to cover up all these unwanted marks.  Since my color was light, it took a couple of coats but now you cant see any of them.  DSC00213

Then, stand back and look at all the marvelous-ness!  This pic looks like one of those free online printables that people post about all the time!DSC00218

Now all I need to do is hang some awesome stuff on the wall!  That will likely take me forever to decide what should go up there.

???????????????????????????????

Well, I hope this tutorial is helpful for you.  I tried to explain as best as possible but I realize its kind of hard to describe in words how to do something detailed like this without showing you in person.  But don’t be afraid to give it a try.  After all, if it doesn’t look right or you get tired of it, all you have to do is paint back over it.

Let me know if you have any questions and I will try my best to help you through it.  Good luck and happy chevroning, or striping, or trellising 🙂

10 thoughts on “DIY Painted Chevron Wall

  1. You did an AWESOME job… and I thought I was the only one that actually went back of the “bleed thru” blemish marks with a small paintbrush. KUDOS. I take this challenge on in a bathroom and bedroom soon. And as you did, I’m only undertaking ONE wall and the others will be solid.

  2. Great job, it looks great, Next time try my tip; Before painting the gray stripe, paint the edges of the painters tape with the base coat, so any “bleed under” would be the same (right) color. This will seal that edge. After base color is dry, paint the gray so when you remove the tape you will have a sharp crisp line.

  3. If you coat the tape with your base color it’ll prevent the other colors from bleeding under the tape. Also clear paintable caulk rubbed along the tapes edge will give you PERFECT lines every time! FYI for future painting projects! 🙂

  4. Love your wall! I used your directions and managed to get my 1/2 wall painted in chevrons, which I love. I did paint the edges of the tape with the base coat first and it works great. But without your directions, I was lost. So, THANK YOU!!!!

  5. I just painted my daughter’s room with one Chevron wall….let me just say it is AWESOME!!! Thank you so much for your great directions…I searched all over Pinterest and yours was the best! Thank You!

  6. Just a quick tip if you ever decide to do this again, paint the “gray” lines with your base wall color around the edges of the tape first so it seals the edges of the tape to the wall and any paint that seeps through will be your base wall color and you won’t have to touch it up afterwards. Also, Frog Tape is great for non-seeping paint lines.

  7. haha Didn’t see there were other comments (let alone several stating what I already said) before I posted mine. Oops!

  8. I did this a couple months ago to my daughter’s room. Thanks! Love the way it turned out. IMG_5555.JPG

Leave a Reply

